In 1583, the Manueline church Igreja do Espírito Santo (Holy Spirit) was rebuilt, and was replaced by the present-day Faro church Igreja da Misericórdia (Mercy).
This Mannerist church features a Greek-cross layout with a dome at the centre.
In 1596, English corsairs commanded by the Count of Essex set fire to the church, as a result of which new building work had to be carried out and the decorative features renovated.
Inside, the 17th century carved altars can still be admired along with a collection of paintings representing the “works of the misericórdia” and a holy water font designed from a Gothic capital.
In the late 18th century, as a result of damage caused by the 1755 earthquake, the façade was remodelled in neoclassical style by Italian architect, Francisco Xavier Fabri.
This church also has a small museum where visitors can admire works of sacred art from the Faro Misericórdia’s collection.